A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Why do so many meats taste like chicken?

Post 21

Milla, h2g2 Operations

I do tend to get my animal relations wrong smiley - blush
But more related to eachother than to mammals eating grass, at least? Or no? smiley - biggrin *rather clueless*

Chickens can indeed be a bit scary. I seem to remember we even had a werechicken around h2g2 at some point... But geese are even scarier!

smiley - towel

Post 22

paulh, vaccinated against the Omigod Variant

"more related to each other than to mammals eating grass, at least?" [Milla]

You're probably right, though my knowledge of historical geology is dated -- I studied it in college in the late 1960s. Since then there have been new discoveries. I believe that birds and dinosaurs now share the same classification. Who knows how they'll be grouped a hundred years from now?

Post 23

Mr. X ---> "Be excellent to each other. And party on, dudes!"

All birds are more closely related to dinosaurs than to us. Mammals, amphibians, reptiles (and by extension dinosaurs) are roughly equally related to each other. Which is to say, not very.

I think alligators, though a completely separate group from dinosaurs, are about as close to modern humans as dinosaurs are, and therefore marginally closer than chickens.

But seriously, it's... I really don't think it's relevant to flavor.

I mean, ya' got ducks, right? They're exponentially closer to chickens than anything I've already said. And they taste different, don't they?

smiley - pirate

Post 24

Cool Old Guy (ex-SockPuppet) Trying not to post for the next 200 days !

Cool old Guy smiley - cogs starting to feel a little ashamed
"As well as for posting this (and presumably disrupting the flow by the delay)